forum home

September 01, 2014, 01:11:27 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

EC Links

Bible study Resources

Links of Interest

Egalitarian Christian Alliance » Theology » General Theology (Moderators: TL, Dawn Wilson, KR Wordgazer, Larry S, Don, Marg) » Qualifications of an Apostle

Author Topic: Qualifications of an Apostle  (Read 7442 times)

Offline Guy Coe

• Overseers
  • Neither mail nor e-mail; URL one in Christ Jesus..
Qualifications of an Apostle
« on: April 16, 2008, 10:17:25 PM »
I took this from a random Google search on "qualifications of an apostle."  I did this because I remember clearly being taught something just like this in the Conservative Baptist church I attended some 35 years ago, when I was a high school student at the time.  I had recently read some of Don Williams' book, The Apostle Paul and Women in the Church.  So I was on the lookout for both missed egalitarian moments in my interpretation, as well as patriarchal assumptions as I approached the text, or as others taught it.  See if you track with me on this.

"According to the New Testament there are basically two qualifications that someone had to fulfill to be counted as an apostle. Now, I admit that nowhere in the pages of the New Testament do we find something like "These are the qualifications of an apostle, and they are..." On the other hand, neither do we find the word "trinity" in the Bible, but we do believe it, because the concept is unmistakably taught in the pages of the Bible.

The first qualification of an apostle is that he had to have seen the resurrected Jesus with his own eyes. He had to have been an "eyewitness." This is indicated to us by Acts 1:21-22, "Therefore, one of the men who have associated with us all the time the Lord Jesus came and went among us, beginning with the baptism of John until the day he was taken up from us, must become a witness with us to his resurrection." (ISV)